Photo Denis Legay - expert

PORTRAIT Expert

Denis Legay

A psychiatrist, who was chair of the Regional Conference on Health and Autonomy in the Pays de la Loire Region from 2010 to 2021. Denis Legay was honorary president of the Regional Health Observatory of the Pays de la Loire Region. He is also secretary general of the French committee for psychosocial rehabilitation (« Reh@b’ »).

Photo Denis Legay - expert
« Despite the undeniable recent progress, mental health remains a hard concept for the general public to understand. There is a great need for information, a need for a bottom-up approach and a need to monitor and counteract negative images. »
What’s the first thing we need to change to make it as easy for people to look after their mental health as their physical health?

What we call ‘access to care’ depends on multiple factors. If I had to choose one, it would be the negative image associated with psychiatric conditions which makes mental health seem mysterious, strange and stigmatized. Because mental health problems also makes us think about our own suffering, which we want to forget.
This is without question the deciding factor, due to the stigmatization which it causes and how this is reflected in the everyday life in the health care system, social welfare, the media, political circles, and society as a whole.
Despite the undeniable recent progress, mental health remains a hard concept for the general public to understand. There is a great need for information, a need for a bottom-up approach and a need to monitor and counteract negative images and remove barriers to access to care, enabling early intervention.
It is this aspect of advocacy which, in my opinion, needs considerable work.

Portrait Expert

Dr. Jean-Victor Blanc

Portrait Expert

Dr. Jean-Victor Blanc

A psychiatrist and addictologist at Saint-Antoine Hospital (AP-HP, Paris), Jean-Victor Blanc is also a lecturer at Sorbonne University and founder of ‘Culture Pop et Psy’.

« [...] the priority here should be working to finally shift how we regard mental health. [...] By moving away from these stereotypes, we can revisit certain clichés, which will allow us to look after ourselves better and also promote inclusion. »
View the portrait

Portrait Project sponsor

Sandrine Broutin

Portrait Project sponsor

Sandrine Broutin

Executive director of Oeuvre Falret

« It’s about having intellectual rigour and refusing to make plans without involving the people concerned. »
View the portrait

Portrait Project sponsor

Pierre Maly

Portrait Project sponsor

Pierre Maly

Manager and a volunteer at Le Jardin Pêcheur, a restaurant in Bordeaux providing employment to disabled people

« [...] Dealing with every employee on a case-by-case basis and having an honest discussion about what’s possible and what their limits are. »
View the portrait

Portrait Expert

Denis Legay

Portrait Expert

Denis Legay

Psychiatrist

« Despite the undeniable recent progress, mental health remains a hard concept for the general public to understand. There is a great need for information, a need for a bottom-up approach and a need to monitor and counteract negative images. »
View the portrait

Portrait Project sponsor

Caroline Matte

Portrait Project sponsor

Caroline Matte

Co-founder and Director of La Maison Perchée.

« Ensuring that the people concerned are included at every stage of the project. »
View the portrait

Portrait Beneficiary

Vincent Gross

Portrait Beneficiary

Vincent Gross

Employee at the ‘Manège réenchanté au Jardin Pêcheur’ and member of the Clubhouse in Bordeaux, VIncent Gross is a HEC business school graduate with an MBA.

« [...] We urgently need to create more spaces which aim to foster social reintegration and help people come out of isolation [...] and prepare each individual to find employment, according to their wishes and capabilities. »
View the portrait

Portrait Expert

Charles-Edouard Notredame

Portrait Expert

Charles-Edouard Notredame

Psychiatrist in the Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Department at the UHC University Hospital of Lille.

« Access to care is one of the cornerstones of mental health. »
View the portrait

Photo Denis Legay - expert

PORTRAIT Expert

Denis Legay

Il a présidé la Conférence régionale de la santé et de l’autonomie des Pays de la Loire de 2010 à 2021. Président d’honneur de l’Observatoire régional de la santé des Pays de la Loire. Il est secrétaire général du Comité français pour la réhabilitation psychosociale (« Reh@b’ »)

Photo Denis Legay - expert
« En dépit d’indéniables progrès récents, la santé mentale reste une notion difficile à populariser et les besoins d’information, d’appropriation par les citoyens, de veille pour combattre les représentations négatives (…) sont importants. »
Quelle est la première chose que vous aimeriez changer, pour que prendre soin de sa santé mentale soit aussi simple que prendre soin de sa santé physique ?

Ce qu’il est convenu d’appeler « l’accès aux soins » dépend de multiples facteurs. S’il fallait en distinguer un, ce serait l’image péjorative que véhiculent les pathologies psychiatriques. Et qui font de la santé mentale un continent mystérieux, ambigu, chargé d’idées reçues. Parce qu’elle résonne également avec les tourments que chacun d’entre nous peut traverser, et veut oublier.

Ce facteur est sans doute le plus déterminant, par la stigmatisation qu’il induit, et sa traduction au quotidien dans le système de soins, de l’aide sociale, des media, des cercles du pouvoir politique, et de la société dans son ensemble.

En dépit d’indéniables progrès récents, la santé mentale reste une notion difficile à populariser et les besoins d’information, d’appropriation par les citoyens, de veille pour combattre les représentations négatives, lever les obstacles à la demande de prise en charge et permettre des soins précoces, sont importants.

C’est cet axe du plaidoyer qu’il faut à mon sens considérablement renforcer.

Portrait Porteur de projet

Pierre Maly

Portrait Porteur de projet

Pierre Maly

Gérant bénévole du Jardin Pêcheur, Brasserie Entreprise adaptée à Bordeaux

« (…) Accueillir chaque salarié au cas par cas, en ayant avec chacun un discours de vérité sur ses possibilités et ses limites »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Expert

Charles-Edouard Notredame

Portrait Expert

Charles-Edouard Notredame

Psychiatre de l'enfant et de l'adolescent

« L’accès aux soins est l’une des pierres angulaires de la santé mentale. »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Expert

Dr. Jean-Victor Blanc

Portrait Expert

Dr. Jean-Victor Blanc

Psychiatre-addictologue à l’hôpital Saint-Antoine (AP-HP, Paris) , enseignant à Sorbonne Université et fondateur de Culture Pop et Psy.

« (…) la priorité devrait être d’enfin changer le regard que l’on porte sur la santé mentale. (…) En sortant de ces stéréotypes, c’est une révolution des imaginaires qui permettra à tout un chacun de prendre soins de soi, et enfin l’inclusion. »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Porteur de projet

Caroline Matte

Portrait Porteur de projet

Caroline Matte

Co-fondatrice et Directrice de La Maison Perchée

« Assurer l'inclusion des personnes concernées à chaque étape du projet »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Bénéficiaire

Vincent Gross

Portrait Bénéficiaire

Vincent Gross

Employé du Manège réenchanté au Jardin Pêcheur et adhérent du Clubhouse de Bordeaux

« (…) Il est urgent de développer davantage de lieux, dont l’objectif est de permettre la réinsertion sociale, la sortie de l’isolement (…) et la préparation de chacun, en fonction de ses désirs et de ses possibilités, à l’insertion professionnelle. »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Expert

Denis Legay

Portrait Expert

Denis Legay

Médecin psychiatre

« En dépit d’indéniables progrès récents, la santé mentale reste une notion difficile à populariser et les besoins d’information, d’appropriation par les citoyens, de veille pour combattre les représentations négatives (…) sont importants. »
Découvrez le portrait

Portrait Porteur de projet

Sandrine Broutin

Portrait Porteur de projet

Sandrine Broutin

Directrice Générale de l’œuvre Falret

« Avoir l’exigence intellectuelle de ne rien imaginer pour les personnes sans les impliquer »
Découvrez le portrait